The Kentucky Supported Higher Education Partnership (KSHEP) is a network of Institutions of Higher Education (IHEs) across the state offering inclusive higher education programs for students with intellectual and developmental disabilities, such as Comprehensive Transition and Postsecondary (CTP) programs.

The KSHEP network is supported by the statewide technical assistance center (TAC) for supported higher education in Kentucky, which is a project of the Human Development Institute (HDI) at the University of Kentucky (UK). We see all IHEs in this network as true partners in the effort to increase higher education options, access, and success for students with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

What is a CTP?

Comprehensive Transition and Postsecondary (CTP) programs support students with intellectual disabilities (ID) who want to continue academic or career and technical instruction at an IHE in order to better prepare for competitive integrated employment and independent living.

There are currently four Kentucky IHEs with CTP programs: Northern Kentucky UniversityMurray State UniversityBluegrass Community and Technical College, and The University of Kentucky. These are all part of the larger Kentucky Supported Higher Education Partnership (KSHEP).

Learn more about each CTP below.

Watch a video about Comprehensive Transition and Postsecondary (CTP) Programs below. This video discusses what a CTP is and outlines key points for students.